better late than never

19 08 2006

iPod_EdisonDateline: August 21, 1959
Hawai’i becomes the 50th state.

Dateline: June 11, 1971
The Mankin family of Lakewood, New Jersey becomes {seemingly} the last household in the country to get a color television.

Dateline: August 8, 1988
Chicago’s Wrigley Field finally gets night baseball!

Dateline: May 21, 1999
Susan Lucci finally wins an Emmy for her role as Erica in All My Children.

Dateline: August 18, 2006
I am no longer the last musician on the planet without an iPod! Woo-hoo!

Thanks to the generosity of family members, my combined birthday present was enough gift certificates to pick up a 60 GB iPod – the black model! One will, I would imagine, have to search high & low to find another iPod with all the Brahms & Beethoven Symphonies, as well as home movies of a gymnastic daughter & and newly (sort-of) talking son. There’s also a collection of cartoons on-board to distract the kids when needed (and it’s needed).

Gotta run – so many CDs to rip!

Actions

Information

One response

20 09 2006
i simply don’t get it « Oboerista - thoughts from an oboist / coffeeist / dad

[…] As I walked my dogs through the neighborhood the other morning, my private, discreet listening of a Haydn symphony (via my iPod) was interrupted by a repeaded booming. The sound was loud and disturbing. Looking around for the source, I saw a car coming toward me. It was more than a block away. As the Cadillac Escalade grew closer, the explosions grew louder and louder. It wasn’t a backfiring engine, it was the Cadillac’s sound system “playing music” for the passengers to enjoy (as well as all of Farifax County, apparently). Rap “music” roared – lower frequencies shook the neighborhood & flexed the Cadillac’s windows in their mounts. The closer the vehicle came, the less I was able to hear of my iPod. Haydn survived the assault, and returned to me once the offending vehicle was 2 blocks beyond me. I simply don’t get it. […]

Leave a Reply

