ha giocato il suo oboe mentre un cantante

18 11 2007

Pavarotti - OboeI performed the Requiem by John Rutter this evening . The sixth movement has a huge oboe solo/obbligato accompanying the chorus. The performance went very well, and I had a good time playing this big oboe solo to a packed house.

The great reward I received, aside from an appreciative audience, was the comment made to me by the conductor after the concert. He told me that he assumed I must have extensive vocal training, due to the way I shaped the musical phrases and tonal colorations. Engelbert Brenner always taught me to think musically as a singer would, and his every note played was this way.

Lessons learned 20 years ago are still with me.

Actions

Information

One response

19 11 2007
quinncreative

What a wonderful compliment, and well deserved. How I would have loved to hear you play this! Hope it filled your heart with joy and the air with wonderful music.

Leave a Reply

